Resetting the Clock

January 11, 2006

That’s it. I am sick of it. Up all fucking night only to go to bed as the birds start singing. I’ve had it with this shit. I’m no morning person and I’ll always be a night owl but this is ridiculous. C’est ridicule!

I think it’s worse in winter. It’s cold, dark and miserable so I stay in bed a little longer, and you only actually need so much sleep, so I end up staying awake later and, before I know it, it’s 6 or 7am before I start to feel tired. Then, not only do I lose the usefulness of daytime, but daylight, making my SAD worse. And it’s noisier outside, and thus harder to get to sleep.

Things are always more difficult when I’m working on a major release and have all these ideas and problems zooming around my head. Unless I sketch them out on paper or rattle them into an OmniOutliner document I just twist and turn and can’t stop thinking. That’s the trouble with working at home, you never leave the office.

In some ways, being up late works well with the whole time zone thing. Most of my customers are in the US, anything from 5 to 8 hours behind me, so I get emails through the evening (i.e. my “afternoon”), but every now and again it gets to the point where even Californians are hitting the sack before I do.

So enough is enough. Today I’m going around the clock. I’m going to stay awake as long as I can, work, think, relax, whatever, until I can’t stay awake any longer. And hopefully this will result in me getting to bed at a reasonable-ish time and begin to set a new pattern. I’ve managed to do this before, like when we moved house, so we’ll see.

8 Responses to “Resetting the Clock”

  1. ade Says:

    Good luck!

    It’s at times like this when you need a little Senseo friend to keep you going 😉

  2. Steve Says:

    Mmm, Senseo!

    Update: 12pm. The alarm clock just went off. And I’m still awake.

    Thrilling, innit.

  3. Claire Says:

    Have you resorted to matchsticks (to hold your eyes open), eating chocolate (for something to do) and opening the window yet?

  4. Steve Says:

    Well the windows are open! I’m glugging tea, but that’s normal. I’m also trying to dump all my thoughts onto paper. I seem to be having multiple brainwaves.

    I’m also getting hungry. I don’t know what to eat for lunch number 2. Nothing too big to make me sleepy, I guess.

  5. Claire Says:

    It says a lot about my job when reading updates of how you’re keeping yourself awake are keeping me amused…

  6. Steve Says:

    This is like watching paint dry!

    By the time I got to the kitchen I didn’t feel that hungry after all. I noticed we have some huge chunk of Christmas cake from our neighbour at the old house and helped myself to that instead.

    She brings some round every year. It’s really rich and will probably last until March.

    I’m starting to get fed up with this now, but 1:30pm seems a really silly time to go to sleep.

    And I’m not that tired. Or am I?

  7. Steve Says:

    I was. Around 2pm I just slipped away into a snooze. I don’t know how it happened, exactly.

    Now I’m back maybe the nap will help me drag this out longer.

    This is like one of those around-the-world in a sailing boat endurance things, but without the nasty weather, sharks, crying, heroic skipper, lack of clean underwear, etc.

    OK, so it’s not like it all.

  8. Steve Says:

    Yawn! That worked.


Leave a Reply

