Sweet Intuition

February 26, 2006

This article from the Daily Telegraph says:

Scientists have discovered that the best way to make a decision is to collect the information you need, forget about it, and then trust your instincts to get it right.

I think there’s something in this. I’m not talking about buying cars, although when I bought my current car I did something like this. I’m thinking about my currently all-consuming job.

So often, I have to make difficult decisions and I’m not always very good at it, especially not in winter when I am filled with self-doubt and my brain has turned to mush. The implications of getting them wrong can range from minor to a real pain. Some things are so important that a misjudgement could cost me weeks of crap until I can find enough time to sort it out.

For example, sometimes I get requests from people who use my software that they want this or that. My instincts will tell me that it’s a bad idea, but my inner people-pleaser will say that I should do it, or at least look into the idea and not just arrogantly dismiss it. Raised on a guilt-trip, me.

So I try to find out if this something is feasible, who and what it will impact and how long it should take and usually come to the conclusion that it’s doable but tricky. In a worst-case scenario, I end up having a conversation with myself that goes something like this:

Me: “So it’s doable. Why don’t you want to do it?”
Me: “It’s just a bad idea.”
Me: “Why?”
Me: “I don’t know, it’s complicated”.
Me: “You’re just being lazy.”
Me: “I’m not! It’s a bad fucking idea.”
Me: “Prove it.”
Me: “Alright then. I shall prove to you that it is a really bad fucking idea.”

One week later.

Me: “That was a bad idea, why did you do that?”
Me: “You asked me to prove it!”
Me: “Fool! Look at all the time you’ve wasted!”
Me: “Look who’s talking!”

It’s not easy being me.

Close your eyes
listen closely
all that you’ve learnt
try to forget it

Fuck logic, fuck logic
bravo to instinct
and sweet intuition
– Björk

2 Responses to “Sweet Intuition”

  1. hanso Says:

    When asked for his opinion on my decision to switch my career to law, an engineering professor of mine said,

    “It is your past that surprises me more than your future.”

    I think, in the end, you’re the only one to truly know (feel) what is right for you, hence, everyone else therefor.

  2. Jayleigh Says:

    That’s an excellent quote at the top. Intuition rocks, but not when it talks smack to you. 😉


Leave a Reply

