Homemade Sushi

March 19, 2006

It’s Friday evening. A mobile phone rings and vibrates annoyingly on a desk. We see a tired and stressed geek pick it up and hit the answer button.

Geek: “Hello?”
Purrplechick: “We’re just on our way back from Tesco and are going to make some sushi. Would you like to join us?”
Geek: “Yes please! Actually I just released Feeder 1.3… .5.2.7.6.1”
Purrplechick: “Does that actually mean anything?”
Geek: “No… only the last six months of my life.”
Purrplechick: “Whatever. We need a little time to prepare, can you come up in about an hour?”
Geek: “Absolutely.”
Purrplechick: “That was a bit too easy. No procrastination or fuss about what you should wear or how long it will take to do your hair?”
Geek: “This is sushi we’re talking about and I know you bought that sake set in IKEA. I would turn up in my birthday suit if I had to.”
Purrplechick: “Ooh err.”
Geek: “It’s OK, I’m not going to.”
Purrplechick: “Thank fuck for that. See you later then.”
Geek: “Later!”

Like my friends, the sushi was amazing.



Photo originally uploaded by purrplechick.

Posting this on the blog saves them the trouble of having to note the time and place I last paid them a compliment.

6 Responses to “Homemade Sushi”

  1. purrplechick the Virgo Says:

    “Posting this on the blog saves them the trouble of having to note the time and place I last paid them a compliment.”

    It was August 2005, if anyone’s interested. 😉

  2. hanso Says:

    Ok. Having read the post (and the one comment that followed it thereafter), I still couldn’t get the picture. My questions:

    1. When did the sushi dinner happen? Last year? or this past Friday?
    2. Geek = you, Purrplechick = her?
    3. The version number for Feeder (1.3…….5.2.7.6.1) strongly suggest that this happened just the other night, and then someone says it’s August 2005. What’s going on?
    4. Did you put salt and vinegar in the rice?
    5. How’s it going?

  3. Steve Says:

    OK, let me see if I can shed some light.

    1. The sushi dinner happened on Friday.
    2. As you well know.
    3. The August 2005 reference is the last time I paid aforementioned friends a compliment before this time, according to one purrplechick, who is a Virgo and writes all these things down, because that’s what Virgos do when they’re not correcting your grammar.
    4. I refer you to the chef.
    5. It’s going well, thanks! Apart from losing my car keys on Saturday morning, which is a right pain.

  4. hans-o Says:

    6. Did you get your car keys back?

  5. Steve Says:

    6. Not yet. And they’re handmade, and cost £hundreds to replace. Thankfully I have insurance.

  6. purrplechick Says:

    4. I used rice vinegar, but not salt as I don’t add salt to my food.


Leave a Reply

