Same Old, Same Old

March 28, 2006

My 500 word rant for today.

Despite the 5 or 6 days I spent testing Feeder 1.3 before I released, I’m still finding silly things that really shouldn’t be and some of these make me wince (like not hooking up the action on the New Folder button). Again, it’s nothing to do with the big stuff, which seems to be working well, but little things that almost irk me more. Mostly it seems to be me noticing the problems rather than hearing about them through support emails, but how many don’t write in?

Maybe it’s best they don’t. Support is ridiculous some days. I know I say I spend 50% of my time on support, but thinking about yesterday that can be applied equally to a 14 hour working day. I think I spent 7 hours yesterday on about 10 emails – some of which were very long – and still had a few left before I gave up for the night, exhausted and aching (then I couldn’t sleep). The two hours I didn’t spend working were when I was eating, cooking, showering, etc.

I wouldn’t mind, but some people are just downright uncooperative. If I send an email asking a single, specific question (designed to show that their problem has nothing to do with me) I don’t want some fuzzy reply saying, pretty much, that “everything is broken”. With one particular person I broke my own rule last January and let him phone me. I won’t do phone support because of cost, timezones, and the fact that it’s much harder to work out what’s going on without being sent links, logs, screenshots or whatever. And also because I can control when I do email support, but not phone calls. Besides, it’s my personal mobile phone.

So anyway, we’ve spoken a couple of times, and this has always been by prior arrangement until yesterday when he called me without asking first at 7pm while I was up to my eyeballs in it. Fuck off!

I tried to take the weekend off, but ended up working half of it anyway and was all wriggly and restless otherwise. The weather was so shit I couldn’t really do anything else. I was bored, but too lethargic to actually start anything that could have kept me entertained.

Since I’ve been getting up earlier, I seem to work harder because most of my customers are in the US, most of the emails come through in the afternoon / evening. So in that sense I achieve more in the daytime, because I’m disturbed less often, but I have to work through the night just to clear the backlog. It was better when I was nocturnal as things seemed to quieten down soon after midnight. Still, thanks to the clocks going forward last weekend (but the US not changing until next Sunday?) I’m now up an hour later than I was.

So much personal stuff to catch up on, it’s ridiculous. And bills! It’s my big bills time of year.

4 Responses to “Same Old, Same Old”

  1. Joshua Says:

    Hey Steve,

    Sorry you have been so swamped. I probably added to your frustration… I was the one who was getting ” Port number too large: ” errors, then couldn’t change the XML file name under the publishing settings area (20/3 and 21/3).

    I admit that I didn’t go into great detail like I usually do for support emails; I always include my system specs but failed to do so for you.

    You were very prompt in replying, offered workarounds, incorporated the fixes in the just released version, took the time to apologize for not typing my name right (lol), and offer Tips via your site’s blog … That is much more than some other independent programers offer.

    Feeder is a must-have app, I use it regularly, and I’ve listed it on My Favorite Mac Apps list. 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Steve Says:

    Hey Josh…ua :-D, those were all valid issues and things I needed to be told about and that’s fine. I don’t think you could have done anything any better. If I need system specs I’ll ask for them, for example, but it is frustrating when people make me jump through hoops just to get the tiny amount of information I need to help them out.

    Thanks for the plug on the site. Good list too! I’ve actually seen a few hits from there but I didn’t realise it was you.

    Oh yeah, and, this blog is meant to *far* too dull (read: bitchy and weird) to be read by my lovely, gentle customers. Keep it to yourself OK! 😉

  3. Joshua Says:

    Steve,

    “Oh yeah, and, this blog is meant to *far* too dull (read: bitchy and weird) to be read by my lovely, gentle customers. Keep it to yourself OK! ;)”

    I found your blog by following the links. On the Reinvented blog you linked to one of your Flickr photos, and since I’m a big Flickr user I checked out your photostream, and then I clicked on your profile, which led me here.

    I was going to comment on your iMac unpacking photos but didn’t want to appear to be some obsessed fan. :p

    This blog puts a face to the person behind the software.

  4. Steve Says:

    I was going to comment on your iMac unpacking photos but didn’t want to appear to be some obsessed fan. :-p

    Haha, no worries, you’d have to be pretty in my face to get to the obsessed fan stage. 😀

    This blog puts a face to the person behind the software.

    Yeah, this is the real me, that’s why it’s not on Reinvented Blog. I got ever-increasingly worried that I’d inadvertently offend someone, and couldn’t really justify writing a 700 word post on what my cat did today. I’m not Wil Shipley, unfortunately.


Leave a Reply

