Boot Camp / Parallels

April 7, 2006

I’ve resisted posting something about Boot Camp because, frankly, I don’t give a damn. Well I do, but what can I write that hasn’t already been written?

I’ve been Windows-clean now for almost 3 years, apart from the crappy PC you use to find stuff in Borders bookstore and those temperamental touchscreen kiosks with messages on the screen saying “The file C:\whatever\something32.dll cannot be found”.

I’m more interested in this Parallels thing because it a) at least keeps Windows at second-class status by being in its own window and 2) goes along with what I wrote when the whole Intel thing was announced in the first place (last but one paragraph).

There are lots of debates going on about whether Boot Camp is a good or bad thing, but let’s face it, it was inevitable that we should have Windows running on Macs after the transition to Intel, whether or not that was endorsed by Apple.

I have no time for the sort of religious debates that seem to be going on (e.g. people screaming that they’re abandoning the platform because of this move – and going to what platform? And why??! Duh). I see it as being very good for Apple’s market share just because it will make the transition a lot less daunting for some people and that, gentle reader, has got to be good for all of us.

Update: I’m also posting this to Reinvented Blog with nicer language because it’s a borderline topic and I can’t work out which blog to post to these days. Just thought I’d mention that in case you thought it was another one of my MarsEdit blunders.

Leave a Reply

