If It’s Not One Thing It’s Another

May 23, 2006

It seems this is the week for internet problems. All yesterday my net connection was so temperamental it took 3 or 4 attempts to do anything – I think my ISP’s DNS servers were playing up, which might explain why sometimes it worked and others it didn’t.

Anyway, I spent most of the day hitting the refresh button. Thankfully I had a personal project to keep me occupied but as far as work goes (I’ve been trying to test my new backend system) it was just impossibly slow. Oh, and now the connection is back I have received a slew of support emails. Fun, fun, fun.

It never fails to amuse me how, whenever I seem to be making progress on stuff, some great wrecking ball swings out of nowhere and throws me back into the previous week. Life, eh?

Update 23/5: And the damn thing has been playing up all tonight, but was fine earlier. It seems to come and go in waves. I’m starting to wonder if someone round here is up to no good and it’s affecting my connection. I’ll be on the phone tomorrow complaining if this keeps up (complaining about being on hold for 45 mins, probably).

2 Responses to “If It’s Not One Thing It’s Another”

  1. Shirley Says:

    I’m not at all a Geek, but would be lost without my computer. When we first bought this one a couple of years ago– Dell–we had continuous problems. I must say Dell has wonderful support, although many of their techs are in India and were difficult for us to understand. They installed new mother boards and everything to be thought of. Still we had problems. Finally, they installed a new power cord. Voila! No more problems.

    Wish you every blessing.

    Shirley

  2. Steve Says:

    Thanks! Looks like my problem was cable related too.


Leave a Reply

