iAche

May 29, 2006

I’m aching because I went to the gym for the first time in almost three years yesterday. However, I’m not aching as badly as I expected and this has me even more worried. I’ve been thinking of going back to the gym for a while. I’m not getting any younger, I sit on my own in the same room all day and I like to smoke.

I found I can still run 2.5K (about 1.5 miles) at 11 KPH without dying. I ran a 10K race once (and it will be only the once!) so improving that distance is something I would like to try. I actually hate running so, for me, it’s more about working at something even if you don’t want to do it than the physical stamina. I could never run a marathon (26 miles) because I think you need real passion to do that.

I also did 20 stomach crunches amongst other things and fully expected to be paralysed from the waist down, but that part of me doesn’t feel too bad. Maybe I didn’t do them right. Walking down stairs hurts, but I’ve actually ached more over the last few months having done no exercise whatsoever. Poor, exhausted little me.

This gym isn’t cheap (but for what you get it’s not bad) and I really, really worry that I don’t have the time to spend on this stuff but my mind is in a place that says I have to work every hour of the day in order to survive. Trouble is, I’ve learned time and time again that you can only do that for so long before both your body and brain starts to give up on you. Continuous mental activity can be as draining as physical activity and it’s easy to get grouchy and depressed as a result.

So, I have signed up to the gym for a year’s membership. It costs a lot, I have to use it. I have friends to motivate me (and me motivate them) into going regularly and I think that will help. I just hope this will help balance my life out a little more because when I think what “normal” people do in a day, I’m far from normal. I need to get some sort of life back.

One Response to “iAche”

  1. purrplechick Says:

    You don’t ache much because you stretched out well. Don’t over-analyse it.


Leave a Reply

