Three Years Already?!

June 1, 2006

At the stroke of midnight, iCal reminded me that it’s been three years since I quit my job and that, in turn, reminded me of this post I wrote for Reinvented Blog a year ago (when about 5 people read that blog and I still felt comfortable writing about personal stuff).

Reading that back, it seems I was on a bit more of a high about everything than I am right now, probably because I was finally working for myself, the business was making proper money and, after everything I had been through, that was a great feeling.

Now I’m in a different phase; the business is still working well but I need to build it up and take it to the next level. Together, we have been through a different kind of hell since then, and while we weathered the storm quite well, I think that has taken its toll to some degree. I’ve barely stopped sprinting – I almost don’t know where the last 12 months have gone.

I still don’t regret leaving the corporate world. I happened to bump into an ex-colleague at the gym on Tuesday. He was one of the few people I miss, we shared the same attitudes and, at the time, ran equivalent teams. Mine was the Online team that dealt with everything interactive and his was the Batch team that handled the overnight jobs. He’s still looking for a way out, but they’re not making it easy for him. That was my problem, you didn’t so much resign as tunnel your way out.

Thinking back to that blog post, I’ve probably grown up a little (or something) since last year. “Reinvented” isn’t just about my apps or my career but also meant to say something about me. My friends were talking about this the other day. I can’t explain it well, hardly notice it myself, but every few months it seems I get a personality transplant. It’s still me, obviously, but so much about my attitude, interests, likes and dislikes, style and whatever changes that I become barely recognisable. Weird, I know. I just think it’s because I’m not the sort of person who likes standing still.

Whatever! It’s great to have that post to read back and remind myself of all this. Who knows what I’ll be writing this time next year?!

4 Responses to “Three Years Already?!”

  1. purrplechick Says:

    I can’t believe it’s been a year since you wrote that post! It only feels like yesterday.

  2. purrplechick Says:

    Actually – I can’t believe it’s been 3 years since you left That Place. Where the bugger has the time gone?!

  3. Steve Says:

    I know! Unbelievable.

  4. swingnut Says:

    3 years later and you’re a self-sufficient self-employed success. Well done!
    I can’t wait for the next level. 🙂


Leave a Reply

