Er, Maybe Next Week

June 18, 2006

Last Tuesday I wrote that I should be ready to get on with some hardcore development by the following week. Well, I just looked at my list of things to do and strongly suspect I’m not actually going to get around to that until the end of this week or the week after now.

It’s just that my loose ends have multiplied (split ends?) since I wrote that, meaning I can’t plug myself back into the machine full-time just yet. The problem with me is that once I start I can’t stop because it’s difficult to turn my mind to trivia and lose my flow. It’s all-consuming, this creative stuff.

My new camera should arrive on either Monday or Tuesday so it’s foolish to think I won’t be messing around with that for hours by taking some really crap photos. I also have to see my friend Dave tomorrow as I haven’t since, er, last summer. Dave and I are both former corporate whores from the old days. He took early retirement a year after I quit to become a sort of househusband, which quite suits him :P.

Plus, I’ve got support emails from today that will doubtless grow to more tomorrow because many podcasters seem to do their shows over the weekend. Support Monday, as it’s known in the business.

I’m booked for a haircut on Tuesday afternoon; I need to buy and post some stuff to Hans for the camera (and Andy, if you’re reading this, I’ll send your thing along the same time) so I’ll probably do that Wednesday / Thursday, I have my Tax Credits to sort out (which I postponed from last week because, frankly, it’s going to mean sending more money to HMRC, and I’m hurting enough as it is after doing my taxes), plus people to email and phone.

So all that is going to mean 3 or 4 days consumed if you include the gym on Tuesday (assuming my ankle is better) and Thursday and it doesn’t include anything else coming up, which it does all the time. So based on past record, to be realistic, I need to take those 3 days and double them. If I come in before then, that’s a bonus.

None of this is helped by me not getting up until about 11am, meaning that I only have limited hours to do certain stuff and it tends to be bracketed by support work, eating, the gym and whatever, meaning that by the time I’m ready to start working, it’s usually 10 or 11pm and I think “fuck it”. I usually manage to do more research and thinking/planning during those times so it’s not so bad.

However, I am pretty sure now about my future direction now, so all this crap I’ve been doing has allowed those ideas to percolate in the background. I knew it would all come to me out of the ether, I knew it! πŸ˜‰

3 Responses to “Er, Maybe Next Week”

  1. Andy Melton Says:

    YAY!, You’re sending me something! I don’t know what it is, but YAY! I love getting things….oh, wait, theres another Andy 😦 You’ll still send me something won’t you? Please? At least a comment on one of my pictures! πŸ™‚

    You should read this article:

    http://tinyurl.com/s4fms

    It goes over how you can get things done in a home based business. I’m really thinking about doing the one where you get up at 5 AM and start your day. I have to agree on those few days where I am able to wake up that early and get to the computer, I am MUCH more productive. Its just soooo difficult to get up that early! BUT, I’m going to try it!

    Take care πŸ™‚

  2. Steve Says:

    Yes, another Andy, not you, Mary!

    I just read that… hell, I go to bed at 5am. I tried the early thing, nearly had a breakdown. Most of my customers are in the US, so my funky timing actually makes some sense. It is inconvenient as far as life goes, though, definitely.

    I’ll comment on your pictures, but they make me hungry!

  3. Andy Melton Says:

    HAHA, thanks πŸ™‚

    So maybe you should move to this God forsaken country πŸ™‚ But then, we’ve got a gazillion time zones in our own country.


Leave a Reply

