Dead Lesbian (well, dying)

October 9, 2006

A few weeks ago pioneer podcaster and power lesbian, Madge Weinstein of Yeast Radio, suffered a botched operation to reduce her weight and is now on her deathbed in a Mexican hospital with questionable standards.

Madge’s alter ego and show producer Richard Bluestein assumed responsibility for hosting the show and I offered to create a new blog theme for his site, along with iTunes artwork, etc.

I was really looking forward to this. I need a change of creative scene every now and again, especially after a month like the last one where practically all I did was answer emails and fix bugs day and night.

Trouble is I had absolutely no idea what to do! The show is evolving at quite a pace and not even Richard really knows what it will turn out to be. During a quick discussion with him and John Ong (aka Miss Penang), he suggested a take on Da Vinci’s Last Supper, with politicians instead of disciples and him as Judas.

Brilliant, we said. It’s the sort of idea that designs itself (well, you know what I mean). Both Richard and John (who is obsessed with fonts and kerning, even more so than me) oversaw the design and I also got a little input on fonts and colours from Hans, too.

You can see the finished theme in all its glory on the Yeast Radio site or here, in miniature:

Yeast Radio Last Supper theme

I’m really pleased with how it turned out. I think it suits Richard and his new podcast by managing to look contemporary without following the herd. And besides, it’s amusing. That’s all down to Richard – his idea. The CSS and images, they’re down to me. πŸ˜‰

If you liked the idea of Yeast Radio, which has always been eclectic and quite political, but didn’t like the lesbian, then check out the new show. It’s improving every day as Richard finds his feet, voice, and other parts of himself that were previously hidden by the mask of Madge.

6 Responses to “Dead Lesbian (well, dying)”

  1. Imma (blank) Says:

    u do good werk!! πŸ™‚

  2. Andy Melton Says:

    Steve, that looks really good. I like it a lot. You little cunt, I see what you’re trying to do, you’re trying to be oooh so much better than Andy Melturd! WELL, buddy…*sigh*, nevermind, you are! LOL

    The only thought that I had (and this is a common WordPress problem) is getting back to the main page of the blog requires you to click on the banner at the top. The problem is, I always forget that until I get so frustrated trying to get home I go to the top and reload the main page and then move the mouse back down and realize there is a link. LOL.

    But, it looks really good, clean and crisp. Great job!

  3. Steve Says:

    Imma flattered!

    Andy, I was just trying to be as good as you, honaye πŸ˜‰

    I understand about the “home” problem – I think clicking on the logo is quite a common way to go about it, but I know I forget sometimes. Do you prefer a navigation menu?

  4. Mark Says:

    Kewl stuff Steve. Shame the damn site is down!
    Great work.

  5. VJ Says:

    I was on the Yeast site yesterday to leave a comment and saw the site was update and was like, this is really good and funny, I wondered who did it? And here I find out it was yours truly, Mr.. S(exy)teve Harris and friends. Great job πŸ™‚

  6. Steve Says:

    Thanks Mark and cutie VJ! πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

