No, I Don’t Want a Java Job!

November 1, 2006

I got my new phone today and had to leave it at home to charge while I went out to give Audrey a wash for the first time in six months. A few minutes ago I noticed there was a voicemail waiting for me. It seems a certain recruitment agency had called with an offer for a Java development job.

Oh please, I was meant to have been taken off these whores’ lists years ago and when I think about it, it’s almost exactly 2 years since I was last zipping up and down the M4 motorway attending interviews for jobs I didn’t want while dreaming up ideas for an app I already knew I would call “Feeder”.

This makes me think that it was some sort of reminder – “don’t knock what you’ve got, Harris, you’ve come a long way”. Well, that’s the way I take it. I’ve been feeling a lot better about myself lately anyway and when I think back to those dark days… mmm.

3 Responses to “No, I Don’t Want a Java Job!”

  1. Andy Melton Says:

    I’m really thinking I don’t want a typical job anymore, either.

  2. Mike C Says:

    Considering what bothered you about the message, was it Java in general or the whores who called you that was the issue?

    I’ve thought about learning Java (not language, not script) and wondered if Java was that much of a PIA.

  3. Steve Says:

    It was the 2 year thing AND the Java thing. Java is sooooo 2003, it’s all Ruby on Rails now!


Leave a Reply

