Moved to blip.tv

November 22, 2006

As of my first Vlog Europe video I will now be hosting all my media on blip.tv. I’ve spent the last few weeks looking around for a better solution after PodShow‘s site upgrade showed me that, far from improving an already clunky and ugly web site with lousy social network features, they’ve actually made it worse: more complicated, uglier, slower and even more irrelevant.

A couple of months ago, I sent quite a detailed email to PodShow expressing my concerns, but unfortunately the latest release has gone so far in the other direction that I feel the only way to make my feelings known now is to vote with my feet.

On the other hand, blip.tv get it. They’re not alone but they are well known and a few of my friends are hosting stuff there without a problem. It’s quick to sign up, simple to use and there are all sorts of handy features like cross-posting, a progress bar for uploading (handy when you’re talking 30 or 50 megabyte files), unintrusive social networking, a Flash player, etc. So, if you’re looking for free hosting for videos, check it out.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , ,

3 Responses to “Moved to blip.tv”

  1. Andy Melton Says:

    I’ll have to give them a re-try (Blip). It seems like I tried them out last fall and wasn’t impressed, I could be wrong, could have been someone else.

  2. Andy Melton Says:

    Oh wow. They look really nice. Definitely not what I tried out last fall. Awesome. I am itching to upload some content. I have no content, yet.

  3. Steve Says:

    I agree, I looked at them a while ago and wasn’t so impressed, but they’ve really got their act together.


Leave a Reply

