Thanksafuckinglot

December 1, 2006

Dollar Decline

Source: BBC News

This pretty graph how shows my income fluctuates, even if I sell the same amount of software every month (priced in US$); it’s been going downhill all year and hits an all time low just in time for Christmas and near to my January tax bill, which I still can’t quite afford to pay (long story). A dollar is currently worth a squeak above 50p, or $1.97 for £1. So, I make £80 less for every $1000 of software I sell now as compared to the beginning of the year.

There are a couple of things going on here: the strength of Sterling and the weakness of the US Dollar. I’m thinking about moving to another currency, namely the Euro, although that brings all sorts of different considerations including competitiveness and confusion. I know of some software sold only in Euros that is doing really well, so maybe it won’t really be such a big deal.

My tentative trigger for making a move to the Euro is when a dollar drops below 50p. The way things are looking, that could be just a few days away.

BBC News: Pound hits 14-year dollar high

6 Responses to “Thanksafuckinglot”

  1. swingnut Says:

    That really does suck 😦
    I actually thought of you when I saw the latest dollar report.

    It’s a bit of a sad twist on the theme of ‘Gimme dollar – I make you holler’.

  2. Andy Melton Says:

    Sorry our country sucks ass.

  3. JayT Says:

    well, if you somewhere to stay – I could find a place for you here.

    JayT

  4. mindcaster Says:

    Max & Stacy would love you for it πŸ™‚


  5. I heard that straight from Stacy’s mouth today, Mary. Ditch the bitch, make the switch!

  6. Steve Says:

    Yep, the switch looks inevitable. Sigh! Thanks all.


Leave a Reply

