Five Things You Won’t Know About Me

December 17, 2006

Deirdré Straughan, who helped organise Vlog Europe has blog tagged me, so I have to tell you five things you don’t know about me.

Update: Er, except maybe you should read what Jeffrey has to say about this, note the comments, and the linked Evilvlog post by Chris Weagel and its follow-up.

As always it’s not what it is, but it’s how you go about it that matters so much.

Trouble is I’m quite open about things whether they’re good or bad, so hopefully there will be something here that even my close friends don’t really know about me.

  1. When I was 13, my friend entered us into a talent competition, doing impersonations of various famous people at the time, including politicians and British soap stars. We got interviewed and photographed for the local paper ahead of the event, along with two bitchy girls in leotards from somewhere else. We practically brought the house down with a performance at school that was all improvised. Come the big day of the competition, we forgot it was happening until that morning, hadn’t prepared and bombed. The annoying girls in the leotards won it. We knew they would anyway, the cows.
  2. I originally wanted to be a journalist, either covering politics or as a war correspondent. I think this is because by the age of 11 I had read and understood All the President’s Men (Watergate scandal) by Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward and there was something about the quality of war reporting on the BBC during the 80s (probably down to Kate Adie) that really showed the human story. Now, I think a lot of this was about standing up to tyrants in some way.
  3. When I was around 16 or 17, I dropped out of school and started training as a hairdresser. I got from the shampoo and sweep phase to tinting hair. I never wanted to be a hairdresser, I just did it to avoid waiting for a placement on this vocational training scheme I was on so I could earn some money. Even now this can be lethal information in the wrong hands as I have to make monthly house calls to touch up certain people’s roots.
  4. And I tried being a sitcom scriptwriter, along with a friend. Our scripts were funny until we had to add a plot and structure. It was ironic that we originally experimented with the idea of a sitcom about “nothing” long before The Royle Family came along. We were told you couldn’t do that and yet British sitcom was dire at the time for all that formulaic crap. The rejection letters become less scathing towards the end. We stopped trying after getting a nice rejection letter.
  5. My biggest fear is dying a natural, timely death having done everything properly. That would be dull. I was always convinced I’d be dead by 30. I’m 31.

So, now, hmm, who should I tag? I think Andy, Darrin, Mark, Ceven (who doesn’t really have a blog, but could podcast it) and just to be a whore, Peter Mavrik, who probably doesn’t know who I am but has a page with 100 things about him on his blog, so I’m sure he can come up with five more.

Leave a Reply

