Spring has Sprung, but What to Wear?!

March 27, 2007

The clocks went forward on Sunday and so did the season, in an instant. Driving home from the gym yesterday, it felt really strange not only to leave in daylight, but also bathed in warm sunlight. It was a really great day and I felt soooo good.

So many people have commented on how much better they feel already. Amazing what a difference it makes. Look, it may be cliché that Brits only talk about the weather, but we get a lot of it, usually all in one day, so get over it.

Today I had to go out for a haircut, the sun was shining and I was looking at the different ways people approach this sudden warmer weather phenomenon. Most people were in t-shirts and jeans. Others were in shorts already, complete with tanned legs.

Cunts. I never tan. I have to use SPF 3000, which blocks all sunlight, otherwise I just turn bright pink and it all peels off in a week. So, at best, I get freckles.

Anyway, there are a few people like me, wearing a light jacket over a t-shirt, trying not to look too warm. I find it hard to switch modes so quickly. It’s not so much that I’m being cautious for my own sake as not wanting to tempt the weather gods.

You see, if I were to have gone out today in just a t-shirt in March, it would almost certainly have rained or turned cold all of a sudden. And that would mean it was all my fault, and everyone’s nice day would have been ruined.

It’s the same if I go to the beach in this country – it clouds over, or it rains. I can almost feel people glaring at me. “Freak! Should have stayed in the shade!”

They’re probably right.

2 Responses to “Spring has Sprung, but What to Wear?!”

  1. Imma (Blank) Says:

    OMG! are U as pale and pastee’ as me? I usually wear SPF 5000 and most of the time, when Imma outside, Imma staying in the shade.

    Freckles… hot! I got freckles too!

    Peace and love, my future husband!! – Imma (dag)

  2. Steve Says:

    Yes, I burn in the shade!


Leave a Reply

