Why I Decided Against Selling Software in Euros, Personal Edition 2007

May 1, 2007

Controversially (not really) I have decided to stick with the dollar for my software sales. I just want to reword the points I made on my Reinvented Blog:

  • Most people in the US prefer to pay in dollars. They know exactly what it’s worth without doing any mental arithmetic, or to be told down the line that €25 is actually $34 (the price today) and probably worse given PayPal’s conversation rates.
  • Most people outside the US know the dollar is at a real low point, so they’re getting a bargain. Even I get disappointed when I see something priced in euros because I know I might actually cost me money.
  • Most people outside of Europe don’t know the rough value of the euro at any given time, so while they may be more accustomed to currency conversion, it’s not something they’re likely to do on the spot. It has the potential to confuse and infuriate.
  • Moving to the euro would effectively create a price increase for US customers (and others) if the value of the dollar continues to plummet while the euro remains strong.
  • Competing products are most often priced in dollars, although whether price is a consideration in that way is another matter.

Translated:

  • Americans are stupid – at least half of them, anyway.
  • Everyone else is smart.
  • I’m not going to be a pioneer on pricing.
  • Most people are lazy about this stuff.

And on the rest of the post, I think the euro is great as long as your economy isn’t based on it and I also have this hunch that Sterling isn’t going to be quite so strong for much longer and thus things will improve in that way.  So, as much as I’d like to save myself from the dollar by abandoning it, I’m just going to raise prices in line with new features eventually and if it really does crash and burn spectacularly, switch then.

4 Responses to “Why I Decided Against Selling Software in Euros, Personal Edition 2007”

  1. Andy Melton Says:

    Thanks for keeping your pricing in US dollars for us stupid Americunts.

  2. Steve Says:

    You need all the help you can get.


Leave a Reply

