Rhymes with Fuck

November 30, 2007

“Work really hard and your dreams will come true,” to quote the Queen of Pop herself (I’m aiming for my target audience here, OK?).

There’s certainly something to be said for hard work, talent can be useful and good judgement counts for a lot, but you can put all these together and get absolutely nowhere. Success in life is so often about timing and luck.

Throughout my life, I’ve worked hard, always tried to do my best and been told I possess considerable talents in whatever until I’m sick of hearing it. And yet, most of the time I find I’m no better off than someone who does the complete opposite, and often worse off. And that sucks.

I’m not saying I haven’t made mistakes or couldn’t have done better, but I always try to ensure I don’t make the same mistake twice, if that counts for anything.

All the best things that have happened to me are seldom of my making. At times my hard work has helped, but really it was being in the right place at the right time that got me anywhere. Conversely, I’ve had some pretty rotten luck too with a succession of problems landing at my door at the very worst moment.

Like a game of snakes and ladders, it’s perfectly possible to clamber up, only to slide all the way back to the bottom again in a single move. Too often, it’s been someone else that rolled the dice, as though they don’t want me climbing their ladder.

I’m not talking about a career ladder or a social ladder. It’s more a survival / happiness ladder.

And actually, I’m not complaining. All this has upsides. I’m always grateful for what I’ve got and feel considerably accomplished when I achieve anything without being handed a golden ticket, even if I do feel like I’m being worked doubly-hard, not because I want to exert all that effort but out of necessity.

I know I don’t always get things right and I’m happy to accept my mistakes. I know I’ll be even happier if I didn’t let the events that are out of my control get me down too. That’s not so easy.

Right now, I’m happy. My hard work seems to be paying off, for a change. I can’t deny though that I’ve also been very lucky these last few weeks and as for timing, heh, it’s uncanny.

Ask me how I feel in a month! 😀

Leave a Reply

